Hey Fatties!
It's 12:47am and I am up doing grad student stuff (YUCK!). Someone please tell me why my face is itching to be stuffed??!! I have been daydreaming about all the scrumptious things I would much rather be eating instead of doing this work.
So I went to my fridge to see what I could find that would be permissible, but of course I found nothing. Decided to peek into the freezer and lo and behold, a sexy tub of Dulce de Leche ice cream...mmm my favorite. Anyone who's had a spoonful of this sinful goodness knows that it's a bite of pleasure every step of the way. But alas, I must be firm and resist the urge to turn the 3 miles I ran today into uselessness.
So here I am...back at my desk...with a glass of water...sulking... because I finally know what the devil looks like.....and.here.is.his.face:
Peace!
Authors
Showing posts with label Quick Fix Junkie. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Quick Fix Junkie. Show all posts
Thursday, April 26, 2012
Tuesday, April 24, 2012
Dust Yourself Off!
Labels:
Quick Fix Junkie
Posted by
Quick Fix Junkie
Hey Fatties!
Peace!
So I'm in the same boat as my co-blogger Diet or Lifestyle. The bf has been visiting since last Friday morning, and I must say it was harder than expected to stick to my regiment.
First of all, I made him all these delectable meals, and of course I couldn't be an impolite hostess and watch him eat them all by himself. You know my mama taught me better than that!!!! Secondly, I did a lot of sleeping in and did not want to see a treadmill. Luckily, he's a bit of a healthy nut himself so while I had a few Mojitos at dinner with the Beer Drinking Vegan, the Uncompromising Fatty and a bunch of other friends, missed a couple gym sessions and ate some pasta and potatoes, I did manage to get one workout in and eat very small portions of the bad stuff.
![]() |
Yes, we have matching sneakers. #eatyourheartout! LOL
|
I also lost 6lbs over last week so I surpassed the 4lbs goal (!!!!!) but I gained back 2 lbs after this weekend of frolicking with the food devils :(. So tonight, even though I would much rather have cuddled, we got our asses up and hit the gym! We worked out for about an hour and I am back in feel good mode.
It's important when you fall off the wagon to pick yourself up! It ain't over till the fat lady hits the treadmill! So don't give up fatties, if you meet a few bumps in the road, life is made up of many of those.
Airing our sneakers out now and its 12:04am. Fun times!
Peace!
PS. Quick tip: the sneakers you wear during a workout can make or break you because they affect your posture and endurance. My favorite are the Nike Lunarfly II, they are super comfortable; feels like you're running on air!
Thursday, April 19, 2012
Feel the Beat!
Labels:
Quick Fix Junkie
Posted by
Quick Fix Junkie
Hey fatties,
So I’m four days into my new regiment, and I’m feeling great. I’ve been waking up earlier than usual so I can get started on my day and fit in the gym and breakfast. I never used to eat breakfast before but now I am making a conscious effort to do so. It’s great because I get more hours out of my day and feel super productive and alive! I’m not sleeping my life away in between classes like I used to!
So I’m four days into my new regiment, and I’m feeling great. I’ve been waking up earlier than usual so I can get started on my day and fit in the gym and breakfast. I never used to eat breakfast before but now I am making a conscious effort to do so. It’s great because I get more hours out of my day and feel super productive and alive! I’m not sleeping my life away in between classes like I used to!
One tip I have for working out is to have a good playlist that makes you want to bust your butt! I listen to a lot of house music and hip-hop with very cocky lyrics when I work out, especially on the treadmill.
Nicki Minaj’s 'Pink Friday' album features heavily in my workout playlist, I feel
like she’s egging me on with all her cockiness ..."Raah raah like a dungeon dragon!"LOL.
Also, I did a weigh in and my target for this week is to lose 4 pounds. Let’s see how that goes. Wish me luck fatties!
Peace!
Also, I did a weigh in and my target for this week is to lose 4 pounds. Let’s see how that goes. Wish me luck fatties!
Peace!
Monday, April 16, 2012
Beast Mode!
Labels:
Quick Fix Junkie
Posted by
Quick Fix Junkie
Hey fatties!
Got my gym membership over the weekend- $55/month!!! Yaaaay me! I signed up for just a month because that's all the time I need to go hard. After that, I can work out at home on my pilates mat and go running by the Hudson. :D Got my groceries for the week as well. Spent under $30. This week I will be drinking tons of water-- no lemonade or iced tea (sigh). For breakfast: nonfat milk and cornflakes. For lunch: yogurt/smoothie/fruit or a protein bar. For dinner: grilled chicken/fish (seasoned with fresh herbs-- no pre-packaged spices, trying to avoid all that sodium) and steamed vegetables/salad. When I get hungry (because we all know I will), my go-to things will be water, water and more water!
Here's a pic of dinner for tonight: I threw together a garden salad drizzled with italian dressing that I made from scratch, and a fillet of grilled tilapia seasoned with rosemary, oregano, thyme and a pinch of salt.
The idea here is to have no more than 1000 calories/day and to go easy on the carbs (goodbye rice, pasta, potatoes and all your delicious friends). Yeah, some people might say that's no good but it worked for me so I'm sticking to the tried and true stuff here. No meals after 8pm and working out twice day. In the gym I'm trying to burn at least 400 calories/day on the treadmill and then rotate lower and upper body workouts throughout the week.
I know I'm going to want to eat a cow with this regiment but perseverance is key here. Nobody ever achieved anything without hard work. Well-- maybe the trust-fund babies did, but that's another conversation for another day.
Wish me luck, fatties!
Peace!
Got my gym membership over the weekend- $55/month!!! Yaaaay me! I signed up for just a month because that's all the time I need to go hard. After that, I can work out at home on my pilates mat and go running by the Hudson. :D Got my groceries for the week as well. Spent under $30. This week I will be drinking tons of water-- no lemonade or iced tea (sigh). For breakfast: nonfat milk and cornflakes. For lunch: yogurt/smoothie/fruit or a protein bar. For dinner: grilled chicken/fish (seasoned with fresh herbs-- no pre-packaged spices, trying to avoid all that sodium) and steamed vegetables/salad. When I get hungry (because we all know I will), my go-to things will be water, water and more water!
Here's a pic of dinner for tonight: I threw together a garden salad drizzled with italian dressing that I made from scratch, and a fillet of grilled tilapia seasoned with rosemary, oregano, thyme and a pinch of salt.The idea here is to have no more than 1000 calories/day and to go easy on the carbs (goodbye rice, pasta, potatoes and all your delicious friends). Yeah, some people might say that's no good but it worked for me so I'm sticking to the tried and true stuff here. No meals after 8pm and working out twice day. In the gym I'm trying to burn at least 400 calories/day on the treadmill and then rotate lower and upper body workouts throughout the week.
I know I'm going to want to eat a cow with this regiment but perseverance is key here. Nobody ever achieved anything without hard work. Well-- maybe the trust-fund babies did, but that's another conversation for another day.
Wish me luck, fatties!
Peace!
Friday, April 13, 2012
Frugal Fitness
Labels:
Quick Fix Junkie
Posted by
Quick Fix Junkie
So I spent most of my life being the really
skinny girl with no boobs or ‘assets’ to boast of. I always wanted to put on a
little weight so I would be curvy and not look like a damn 9 year old. But no
matter what I ate—ice cream, burgers, cookies, greasy chicken--…u name it, I
probably threw it at my face…but it never showed. Then I graduated from college, started working,
stopped dancing, yoga and pilates, and guess what…I put on about 50 pounds in a
span of 4 months. I kid you not; whoever said “be careful what you wish for”
was no fool. I woke up one day, took a look in the mirror, felt disgusted at
what I saw and decided to fix it. I went on my own rendition of a diet and
a strict daily 2-hour workout. I lost about 25 pounds in 2 weeks. I wasn’t
obsessing about how I looked any more, and I gradually shed the rest of the weight
over the following 2 months.
The
moral of my story is this: I like quick fixes. Extract the negative
connotations, basically I am impatient and become extremely aggressive when I
really want something. I need to see instant results or I get discouraged. I
find a way to make them more than just a quick fix after the results come to
fruition. The way I did that in this instance was to change my eating habits
and remain active. Until now…
With
the stress of being in grad school and being too poor (side-eye @ school loans)
to get a gym membership or pay for dance classes, my jeans are feeling rather
snug and it’s not cute! So I’m back in revamp mode. Nothing too drastic like before
though, mama just needs some toning! :D Follow
me on my quick fix journey to fitness. Along the way hopefully you will pick up
some tips on living and feeling healthy (on a budget ;)), looking your best,
and managing your time so you can stop to take care of yourself. But if all
that fails, perhaps you will just have a laugh at my ice cream deprived self
for at least trying. Cheers to that! (with water, not alcohol because I say NO
to calories).
Peace!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)


